dollarshasem.blogg.se

Install ubuntu for mac refind
Install ubuntu for mac refind






install ubuntu for mac refind
  1. #INSTALL UBUNTU FOR MAC REFIND INSTALL#
  2. #INSTALL UBUNTU FOR MAC REFIND UPDATE#

iSight does not work, but I am ok with that. Once Ubuntu boots, the wifi, sound, suspend, etc. The nice part about installing it this way, is that if you ever decide to get rid of Ubuntu (Which would make me sad :'( ) You can just boot into OS X and remove your Ubuntu and Swap partitions and resize the OS X partition to take up the rest of the space. When it comes back to life select Boot EFIubuntugrub圆4.efi

  • Once Ubuntu installs, the computer will reboot.
  • Continue through the installer choosing the rest of the default values.
  • Ubuntu (I made this 80 GB using ext4 as the file system).
  • Your Partition should look something like this:

    #INSTALL UBUNTU FOR MAC REFIND INSTALL#

    When you get to the part where it asks you where you would like to install Ubuntu select Something Else.

    install ubuntu for mac refind

    Also, you'll probably have to mount your ESP manually, since that's not done by default under macOS.

  • Go through the installer with all defaults. The procedure for installing rEFInd on a Mac is similar to that for installing it under Linux, except that you must use the bless utility rather than efibootmgr to register the program with the firmware.
  • From ReFind select Boot EFIBOOTgrub圆4.efi.
  • You should boot into ReFind, if not reboot again.
  • Plug in the USB and reboot your Macbook Air.
  • It does not matter what file system type you use here because we are going to change it using the installer later. I took out 80GB for Linux and 4GB for Swap (I have a 128GB SSD).
  • Open up Disk Utility, Select the Macintosh HD, and make two additional partitions.
  • Open up Terminal.App and issue the following commands to install Refind cd Downloads/refind-bin-0.8.0 & sudo sh install.sh.
  • Steps to Install Ubuntu 14.04 on Macbook Air

    #INSTALL UBUNTU FOR MAC REFIND UPDATE#

    In addition, most guides recommend keeping OS X laying around somewhere in case apple decides to release some firmware update that is required for future operation of this device. The 20~ GB of Hard Drive space that I lose is well worth being able to finally run Linux on this laptop. I probably reinstalled OS X three or four times before I finally gave up and decided to dual boot. I had to dual boot because no matter how many different guides I followed I was not able to get the Macbook Air to single boot with Ubuntu.

    install ubuntu for mac refind

    The install process is pretty straightforward. However, I have never been a huge fan of OS X because it takes all of the fun out of UNIX. I am a huge fan of Apple Hardware, and it is my personal opinion that the Macbook Air is the perfect laptop. I absolutely love this laptop, but was disappointed that I was stuck in OS X. I am so excited to report that after a long time of trying every distribution under the sun, I was finally able to install Ubuntu 14.04 on my beloved Macbook Air.








    Install ubuntu for mac refind